Las Vegas, NV (July 18, 2010)—The Professional Beauty Association (PBA), presenter of the North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA), the most prestigious hairstyling competition in North America, announces the winners of NAHA 2010. The winners were recognized July 18, 2010 at a star-studded Awards Ceremony, attended by a record number of over 2,400 guests at the Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino in Las Vegas, and were seen world-wide via live steaming broadcast. These extraordinary stylists showcased the talent and creativity of the professional beauty industry in North America.

Master Stylist of the Year
Wendy and Oscar Bond
Bond Academy, Upper Montclair, NJ

Hairstylist of the Year
Tony Ricci
Ricci Hair Co., Edmonton, AB

Salon Team of the Year
Salon Pure
Montreal, QB

Editorial Stylist of the Year
Steve Elias
Elixir Salon Spa, Berkeley, CA

Student Hairstylist of the Year
Patrick Mathes
Aveda Fredrics Institute

Dimitrios Tsioumas
Mizu New York, New York, NY

Make-Up Artist of the Year
Seong Hee Park
New York, NY

Avant Garde
Nicholas French
Matrix C.R.A.F.T. Global Academy, Westhampton, NY

Contemporary Classic
Alain Pereque
Salon Pure, Montreal, QB

Fashion Forward
Antoine Vadacchino
Salon Pure, Montreal, QB

Chrystofer Benson
Salon Tantrum, New York, NY

Salon Design
Vasken Demirjian Salon, White Plains, NY

Salon MBA (New for 2010)
Shawn Trujillo & Angie Katsanevas
Lunatic Fringe, Salt Lake City, UT

Awards Ceremony: Celebrating 21 years of artistry, guests experienced the exhilaration of the most prestigious hairstyling competition in North America as they were taken on a fashion-forward inspired journey. The tone for the evening was instantly set when a flash mob of students from the BEACON program galvanized the audience. The NAHA 2010 Awards Ceremony also welcomed former NAHA winners Vivienne Mackinder and Faatemah Ampey back to the stage to inspire and tantalize attendees with special artistic presentations inspired by couture fashion and beauty. This explosive evening of star-studded entertainment also featured the return of DJ Roonie G and the Las Vegas-based Culture Shock Dance Crew.

Special Honorees: This year’s special honorees included Frederic Holzberger, inducted into the Hall of Leaders, and Beth Minardi, as the recipient of a Lifetime Achievement award. Actress Holly Robinson Peete, was presented with the PBA Beautiful Humanitarian Award for her work in helping to improve the quality of life of people plagued with devastating life circumstances. Peete, who co-founded the HollyRod Foundation in 1996 is an advocate for consistent and reliable education, outreach and support of families affected by autism and Parkinson’s disease.

Judging: NAHA judging was also enhanced in 2010 and focused on a diverse group of leading international hairstylists and makeup artists from the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Australia, and Switzerland. Judges included Vivienne Mackinder, Tabatha Coffey, Ruth Roche, Sally Hershberger, Mary Brunetti, Darren Bain, Bennie Tognini, Robert Lobetta, Nick Arrojo, Kendall Ong, Cary Obrien, Jamie Carroll, Gary Sunderland, Heather Wenman, Karg, Antoinette Beenders, Dean Banowetz, Nicholas French, Sam Brocato, Anthony Morrison, Mark Hayes, Sharon Blaine, Jane Wild, Eveline Charles, Leon Alexander, Jonathan Lovett, Damian Stoney, Petra Strand and several others. With a record number of entrants in 2010, judging of over 700 entries was performed via a blind entry process. Entries were narrowed down to five finalists per category, and one winner in each category was chosen.


New in 2010: The NAHA competition and Awards Ceremony is always evolving. In 2010, NAHA utilized technology though a partnership with to bring the NAHA Awards Ceremony to the world via free, live steaming video. The inaugural NAHA Salon MBA award was also presented to recognize savvy salon owners who have cultivated a cutting-edge salon and a highly profitable business. Media attention in the NAHA competition has also grown with the Beauty Directors for Life & Style Magazine and Zink Magazine judging and presenting awards. Nationally syndicated lifestyle show, BetterTV was also on hand to capture the event and people that make NAHA what it is today.

Images & Photo Usage: All the winning images and corresponding logos are available for download. Images from the Awards Ceremony will also be made available within 48 hours of the event. All NAHA images are the property of the North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA) and the Professional Beauty Association (PBA). All rights reserved. Images may be used for editorial coverage only. All images must include a credit with the stylist’s name and NAHA 2010 finalist / winner (photographer credit is also requested and is available. At the minimum, please cite “courtesy of PBA” for photo credit).

Please contact Brad Masterson at 702.567.8049 / with any questions and to obtain access to photography.


NAHA 2011. Applications will be available shortly at