25 Years of NAHA

NAHA Celebrating 25 Years of Beauty

NAHA is proud to celebrate 25 years of recognizing the beauty industry's most talented artists. Since its humble beginnings in 1989, NAHA finalists and industry elite have brought this iconic photographic beauty competition to new heights year after year. Thank you for celebrating 25 incredible years of talent with us as we look forward to many more amazing years to come.

The North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA) is the most prestigious photographic beauty competition in North America, celebrating the artistry and skill of the professional salon industry. Each year, individuals are recognized in 14 categories of excellence during a star-studded Awards Ceremony. Join Probeauty as we honor the dedication and skill of the artists who have inspired us.

  • 1989

    Founded by Modern Salon Media and Redken Laboratories, NAHA debuts in Chicago with five categories. The event was black-tie optional and a champagne reception and gourmet dinner.

  • 1991

    NAHA awards Paul Mitchell the first Lifetime Achievement (posthumously)

  • 1993

    NAHA introduces the Student Hairstylist of the Year category.

  • 1991

    NAHA introduces two new categories: Nail Makeovers and Permanent Waving. Awards Ceremony is held in San Diego in January during the Winter Buyer's Conference.

  • 1995

    Redken icon Paula Kent Meehan is named first Hall of Leaders recipient during the February ceremony in Anaheim, CA.

  • 1998

    The NAHA Tribute Journal takes the shape we see today with images from all finalists.

  • 2001

    NAHA introduces two new categories: Long Hair Dressing and Contemporary Classic.

  • 2002

    Salon Team of the Year category is added.

  • 2004

    The NAHA Awards Ceremony finds its current home at the Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino in fabulous Las Vegas.

  • 2007

    NAHA introduces the new category Fashion Forward.

  • 2009

    Access Hollywood star Nancy O'Dell is the 2009 NAHA Emcee and first recipient of the PBA Beautiful Humanitarian Award.

  • 2010

    The Salon MBA category is introduced to recognize the amazing work of today's business savvy salon/spa owners.

  • 2011

    The NAHA Awards Ceremony is hosted by industry icon Tabatha Coffey.

  • 2012

    Newcomer Stylist of the Year is introduced to bridge the gap between Student and Hairstylist of the Year.

  • 2013

    Men's Hairstylist of the Year category becomes 14th NAHA category.

NAHA is part of PBA Beauty Week, North America's largest, most inclusive beauty event, offering unlimited networking, education, and professional growth opportunities to all sectors of the beauty industry. PBA Beauty Week is produced by the Professional Beauty Association (PBA) and hosted by Cosmoprof North America.