Allen Ruiz Captures NAHA’s Top Honor, Hairstylist of the Year for Second Time

Las Vegas, NV (July 14, 2013) – The  North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA), a Professional Beauty Association (PBA) event and the most prestigious photographic hairstyling and beauty competition in North America, is pleased to announce the winners of NAHA 2013. The winners were recognized July 14, 2013 during a star-studded ceremony held at the Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino in Las Vegas. More than 3,000 beauty professionals attended, along with tens of thousands of viewers from across the world who tuned in to watch the live streaming broadcast on

NAHA’s top honor, Hairstylist of the Year, was presented to Allen Ruiz, from the Jackson Ruiz Salon in Austin, Tex. This is Ruiz’s second NAHA Hairstylist of the Year honor, making him only one of three hairstylists that have achieved this honor more than once.

NAHA honors artists in 14 distinct categories, including an award for Makeup Artist of the Year. For the 2013 competition, PBA introduced the Men’s Hairstylist of the Year category. The NAHA 2013 winners in their respective categories include:
Master Hairstylist of the Year

Dimitrios Tsioumas, Mizu New York, New York, NY

Hairstylist of the Year

Allen Ruiz, Jackson Ruiz Salon, Austin, TX

Newcomer Stylist of the Year

Jeremy McDougle, Lunatic Fringe Salon, Salt Lake City, UT

Editorial Stylist of the Year

Sherri Jessee, Sherri’s Hair Salon, Bristol, VA

Men’s Hairstylist of the Year 

Matthew Morris, Matthew Morris Salon and Skincare, Denver, CO

Student Hairstylist of the Year

Stormie Roberts, Eric Fisher Academy, Wichita, KS

Make-Up Artist of the Year

Katy Albright, Katy Albright, Waxhaw, NC

<Avant Garde

Matt Swinney, Evolution, Minneapolis, MN

Contemporary Classic

Geno Chapman, Julian August, Los Angeles, CA


Sue Pemberton, Sue Pemberton LLC, Henderson, NV


Anthony Cress, Studio 4 Salon, Newport Beach, CA

Salon Team of the Year 

Lunatic Fringe Salon, Salt Lake City, UT,

Salon Design

Mitch Men’s Salon, Normal, IL

Salon MBA

Neroli Salon & Spa, Milwaukee, WI

NAHA Red Carpet Highlights: NAHA continues to garner more and more celebrity recognition with each show. This year proved no exception. Finalists and attendees mixed and mingled with other guests and celebrities on the red carpet, including NAHA 2013 host Mario Lopez and and Dita Von Teese.

Awards Ceremony & Artistic Presentations: This year marked 24 years of the NAHA Awards Ceremony. In addition to the presentation of the awards, the high-energy event featured artistic presentations from Aveda, KAO/Goldwell and Dimitrios Tsioumas, recipient of the 2012 Hairstylist of the Year NAHA.

This was also a great night for Dimitrios Tsioumas.  The People’s Choice honor went to Master Hairstylist of the Year winner Tsioumas of the Mizu New York salon in New York, NY. NAHA attendees and viewers were asked to select their favorite in the Master Hairstylist of the Year category via text.

Special Honorees: Renowned actor, author, entertainment journalist, producer and father Mario Lopez was this year’s recipient of the PBA Beautiful Humanitarian Award for his outstanding contributions to an array of charitable causes, including the Boys & Girls Clubs of America, Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, Community Youth Athletic Center of Chula Vista, Jameson’s Army, and Padres Contra el Cancer. Lopez also hosted the 2013 NAHA Awards Ceremony.

Judging: NAHA continues to draw from a diverse and internationally renowned list of hairstylists and makeup artists from around the world. Judges included Vivienne Mackinder, five-time NAHA award winner, founder of, and editor-in-chief of MOD magazine;Tabatha Coffey, author, stylist and host of Bravo’s Tabatha’s Salon Takeover; Nicholas French, renowned UK stylist, author, and speaker; and Damien Carney, prominent beauty industry educator, founder of hairstyling academy Damien Carney London, and NAHA finalist along with many other top hairstylists from around the world! Via a blind judging process, entries were narrowed down to five finalists per category, and only one winner in each category was chosen.

New for NAHA 2014: 2014 will mark NAHA’s 25th anniversary, making it the longest running  professional beauty competition. PBA and the NAHA committee will showcase the history of NAHA and what they have meant to the professional careers and lives of so many talented hairstylists throughout the years. The 2014 NAHA Awards Ceremony will no doubt be filled with even grander artistic presentations and the biggest names in the professional beauty industry.

Images & Photo Usage: All winning images and corresponding logos are available for download. Images from the Awards Ceremony will be made available within 48 hours of the event. All NAHA images are the property of the North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA) and the Professional Beauty Association (PBA). All rights reserved. Images may be used for editorial coverage only. All images must include a credit with the stylist’s name and NAHA 2013 finalist / winner.  (Photographer credit is also requested and is available. At the minimum, please cite “Courtesy of PBA” for photo credit.) Please contact Brad Masterson at 702.567.8049 / with any questions and to obtain access to photography.

NAHA 2014 Application will be available at