Since 2009, federal contractors and subcontractors are required to use the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service’s E-Verify System. The E-Verify System checks if a potential employee is legally authorized to work in the United States.  The ability to electronically check employment eligibly is a free service through E-Verify. Today states have different levels of requirements to maintain compliance utilizing E-Verify.

Below are E-Verify requirements by state as of December 2011, according to LawLogix:

All or Most Employers: Alabama, Arizona, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Caroline, Tennessee, Utah

Public Employers and/or Contractors: Florida, Indiana, Missouri, Nebraska

Public Employees Only: Idaho, Virginia

Contractors Only: Colorado, Minnesota

Employees Through Local or Municipal Requirements Only: Michigan, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Washington

Pending Legal Decision: Ohlahoma

Requirement Rescinded or Expired: California, Illinois, Rhode Island

Penalties for non-compliance vary from state to state; some penalties include ineligibility to receive and/or loss of federal contracts, revocation of business license, and monetary fines.

Learn more about E-Verify through the following resources:

E-Verify – U.S. Citizen and Immigration Services:

E-Verify State Map:

Article Source: LawLogix,